HAPPY NEW YEAR

Okay, it’s been a while. A long while. I suck so bad at blogging. But. It’s New Year’s Day 2011. My 45th birthday. (jesus i’m freaking OLD) I AM SICK AND TIRED OF BEING FAT. I CAN’T STAND WHAT I SEE IN THE MIRROR. And there is NO reason I shouldn’t be able to lose wight. Well, actually there are a bunch of reasons (medicine, sleep apnea), but I can overcome these reasons. So, S and I have decided to do try the “slow carb” eating plan. It’s pretty paleo, but with one big difference: THE CHEAT DAY!!!!!!! For many metabolic reasons, you have a day where you eat whatever you want. If you are following the diet pretty well the rest of the week, the cheat day should actually HELP your weight loss. If I could lose 20 pounds, I’d feel SO MUCH better and be psyched for more intense exercise. Right now it’s yoga and swimming and some hiking when it’s not snowy and cold. I’d like to be able to more intense stuff. But feeling to fat and out of shape for things like zumba and snowshoeing.

Anyway, Tim Feriss, author of “The 4 Hour Body” says if you eat this way, you can lose 20 pounds in 4 weeks. Well, that would be awesome.

The “eating plan” is pretty simple… protein, legumes, and veggies at every meal. NO dairy (except for cottage cheese), grains, sugars or other processed carbs. And one cheat day a week. Okay, I’m game. I’ll try it for 4 weeks.

Here’s my menu for the next week or so:

Salmon and lentils, brussel sprouts and carrots
Turnip and sweet potato mash & sausage, garlic-y broccoli
Rosemary and garlic white beans, chicken under a brick, and garlic-y greens
Meat and bean chili, mixed veggies
Chicken and tortilla soup, guac and raw veggies
“Salsbury” steak, cauliflower puree, mixed veggies
green bean, cauliflower, sweet potato curry with toasted cashews
cobb salad
red lentil dal and mixed vegetable curry

One thing I am hoping: this way of eating helps S break his intense sugar addiction. I will try and report how things are going. But you all know how much I suck at blogging.

 

~ by nawor on January 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
